top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBabatunde Akinsanmi

First true observation session

Today i joined a colleague of mine on an observing run using telescope facility from the European Southern Observatory. We made observations with the High- Accuracy RadialVelocity Planet Searcher (HARPS) which is installed on the 3,6m telescope in La Silla Chile. It is a spectrograph dedicated to the discovery of exoplanets using the radial velocity method.


I have heard several stories about astronomer's travel to the Chilean mountains for their observing runs and I always looked forward to having my own personal experience. I hoped this year would be it but of course 2020 prohibited any such travel. But remote observations were possible where you connect with a night astronomer at the facility and use remote platform tools to sequence the observations.


It was a fun first experience (despite being remote) and I enjoyed learning a range of things. I however still wish to have my own physical experience of the Chilean mountains and enjoy the view at one of the darkest sky sites on earth.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning to blog

Here is my first attempt at starting a blog. I'm sadly not the kind of person to write up something so frequently, partly because I do not consider a lot of things worth writing about but i am certain

bottom of page